Appreciating the Surprises of Gillian Flynn

My friends know that I go a little nerd about books and my taste can range from children’s literature to young adult to action. But my favorite genre of them all has to be suspense.

I have to be honest – I knew Gillian Flynn only after the hype about the Gone Girl movie. I even got my 2 other books on sale from National Bookstore. I might be late but I’d like to dedicate an entire post to  appreciate the beauty that is Flynn’s head.

After Gone Girl, I went for Sharp Objects – a novel narrating the life and struggles of a cutter (a person who cuts her own skin) as she unravels the truth behind children disappearing and killed from her hometown while facing her own demons. The story is ordinary on the surface and to be honest I thought I got the killer guessing game down pat. Lo and behold the shocker that was the last chapter! Flynn did not scrimp on gory details – the psychological part about the need to cut skin is so disturbing and I love it.

The recent book I finished just a week ago was Dark Places – a story about a family murder survivor Libby and how her desire to prove her testimony (that resulted to her brother’s lifetime imprisonment) lead her face to face with the awful truth. Told in 2 voices of the past (her mother and brother’s) and Libby’s current one, the novel is a gripping guessing game. One of those books that tempts you to take a peek at the last few pages just so you can sleep at night. This is definitely dark and gory, so if you like those things this one’s for you.

Would you like some Flynn gore too?

Leave a comment